Code Metrics Power Tool 11.0


Some weeks ago, Microsoft released the Code Metrics Power Tool 11.0 that works together with the latest FxCop binaries of Visual Studio 2012. What a surprise… I did not expect that they would come up with a new version of the tool, due to the fact that the code metrics analysis feature is now also available in Visual Studio Professional (of course I know it´s intended to be used in an automated build environment). Even though I implemented my own metrics calculator based on the Roslyn September 2012 CTP, I will integrate the Power Tool into the Code Metrics Viewer 2… thinking about to move the experimental Roslyn stuff into a separate package. Will see…

For god´s sake! I would like to know why the Power Tool does not have a user-friendly setup? It is compressed into a self-extracting cabinet file. In my opinion, this would be okay, if the package would also contain all dependencies which are required to run the application. This would allow to install it to a directory free of choice. But no, the Metrics.exe binary is tightly coupled to Visual Studio binaries and must be copied to the FxCop directory within the Visual Studio installation folder (at least this is mentioned in the installation instructions on the download page). So, before I do the integration, I need to think about a setup util…

I wrote some sample code that can be used to build a simple setup application: http://bit.ly/10kQMQj

Update, 2013/09/20: The Code Metrics Viewer 2012 extension is now available at http://bit.ly/19kOHUI.

Leave a Reply

